erik johansson_self supporting_photo
erik-johansson_self-supporting_making-of_a
erik-johansson_self-supporting_making-of_b

SELF-SUPPORTING

 

Erik, can you tell us a bit about how you made this photo?
I photographed this one a couple of years ago in an area in the north of Czech Republic called “Bohemian Switzerland”. It’s an area with lots of sand stone and interesting shapes, I photographed it right after the rain and therefore you have the very interesting cloud shapes over the forest.
I got the idea of creating a society that is supporting each other, like the arch when you remove one piece the whole structure fail. But if it’s untouched it stays very strong without much effort, much like the society we need to support each other. So, I set out to photograph all the houses after shooting the mountains and background. I knew I had to shoot them in very specific perspectives so I sometimes had to go up in towers around Prague to get the right perspective and for some of the others I should shoot it more from below. In total the houses are a mix of houses from Czech Republic and Stockholm old town. From left to right: Czech, Czech, Sweden, Czech, Sweden, Sweden, Sweden.

Nice thing is that our practice is called “convex”, and this arch of yours is in somewhat in our logo. And the arch is a principal element for a structural engineer. And your idea of creating a society that supports each other, is the idea how we as a team to work together… It fits somehow…
Yes, that’s fun! It does sound like a perfect fit! This is what the first sketch of the image looked like, I drew the buildings in to get an idea of how I needed to photograph them and follow the perspective correctly. I actually have an engineering background myself in computer engineering, so I’m very interested in this sort of problem solving, but I just studied engineering (at Chalmers University of Technology in Goteborg), I never worked as an engineer.

indeed. One question: the two “supporting mountains”, are they in reality standing close by each other – or are they placed by you in such way?
Yes and no, there are two pillars next to each other but the left side of one of them is somewhat attached to the rest of the mountain next to it, so the right pillar is free standing in the environment like that, and the left one is partly free but I had to change the left side of that pillar to make it more free like the way I wanted. there is an image of what it looks like there but from a slightly different angle. There is a bridge like part connecting them and that is what gave me the idea of having houses squeezed in between them instead.

I see. And then you had to “deform” the houses such, that they are like bricks in a vault, I guess?
Yes, exactly, I had to make them slightly cone shaped to fit together, I tried to not make it overly obvious but when you know it you see it.

A signed, large fine art print (180 x 135 cm) of “Self-Supporting” by Erik Johansson can be seen in our practice.

Self-Supporting, 2017

Surreal Photography
by Erik Johansson

www.erikjo.com

erik johansson_self supporting_photo
erik-johansson_self-supporting_making-of_a
erik-johansson_self-supporting_making-of_b

SELF-SUPPORTING
Tschechien

 

Erik, kannst du uns ein wenig darüber erzählen, wie du dieses Foto gemacht hast?
Dieses Foto habe ich vor einigen Jahren in einem Gebiet namens „Böhmische Schweiz“ im Norden der Tschechischen Republik gemacht. Es ist ein Gebiet mit viel Sandstein und interessanten Formen, ich habe dort direkt nach einem Regen fotografiert, deshalb sieht man die sehr interessanten Wolkenformen über dem Wald.
Ich hatte die Idee, eine Gesellschaft zu schaffen, die sich gegenseitig unterstützt, wie bei dem Bogen, wenn man ein Teil entfernt, scheitert die gesamte Struktur. Aber wenn es unberührt bleibt, ist es ohne großen Aufwand sehr stark, genau wie in einer Gesellschaft, bei der wir uns gegenseitig unterstützen. Also machte ich mich auf den Weg, Häuser zu fotografieren, nachdem ich die Berge und den Hintergrund aufgenommen hatte. Ich wusste, dass ich sie in ganz bestimmten Perspektiven fotografieren musste, so musste ich manchmal auf Türme in Prag hinaufgehen, um die richtige Perspektive zu bekommen, und für einige der Anderen musste ich sie mehr von unten fotografieren. Insgesamt sind die Häuser eine Mischung aus der Tschechischen Republik und der Stockholmer Altstadt. Von links nach rechts: Tschechien, Tschechien, Schweden, Tschechien, Schweden, Schweden, Schweden, Schweden.

Schön ist, dass unser Büro den Namen „convex“ hat, und dieser Bogen von dir ist in unserem Logo. Und der Bogen ist ein wesentliches Element für einen Statiker. Und deine Idee, eine Gesellschaft zu schaffen, die sich gegenseitig unterstützt, ist die Idee, wie wir als Team zusammenarbeiten…. Es passt irgendwie…
Ja, das klingt gut! Es passt perfekt! So sah die erste Skizze des Bildes aus, ich habe die Gebäude eingezeichnet, um eine Vorstellung davon zu bekommen, wie ich sie fotografieren und der Perspektive richtig folgen musste. Ich habe selbst einen ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Hintergrund in der Informatik, also interessiere ich mich sehr für diese Art der Problemlösung. Ich habe Ingenieurwesen studiert (an der Chalmers University of Technology in Göteborg), aber ich habe nie als Ingenieur gearbeitet.

in der Tat. Eine Frage: Die beiden „Kämpferfelsen“, stehen sie in Wirklichkeit so dicht beieinander – oder wurden sie von dir so platziert?
Ja und nein, es gibt zwei Felsen nebeneinander, aber die linke Seite von einem ist etwas an den Rest des Felsens neben ihm angelehnt, so dass der rechte Felsen in der Umgebung frei steht, und der Linke ist teilweise frei, aber ich musste die linke Seite dieses Felsens ändern, um ihn freier zu machen, so wie ich es wollte. Es gibt ein Bild davon, wie sie dort aussehen, aber aus einem etwas anderen Winkel. Es gibt ein brückenartiges Teil, das sie verbindet, und das ist es, was mir die Idee gab, stattdessen Häuser zwischen ihnen einzubauen.

Ich verstehe. Und dann musste man die Häuser so „verformen“, dass sie wie Ziegelsteine in einem Bogen sind, schätze ich?
Ja, genau, ich musste sie leicht kegelförmig machen, damit sie zusammenpassen, ich versuchte, es nicht zu offensichtlich zu machen, aber wenn man es weiß, sieht man es.

Ein signierter, großer Kunstdruck (180 x 135 cm) von „Self-Supporting“ von Erik Johansson ist in unserem Büro zu sehen.

Self-Supporting, 2017

Surreale Fotographie
von Erik Johansson

www.erikjo.com