KW CSEPEL II BUDAPEST 1239827537
KW CSEPEL II BUDAPEST 1239827485
KW CSEPEL II BUDAPEST 1239827629

COMBINED CYCLE POWER PLANT CSEPEL II BUDAPEST, HUNGARY

 

The combined cycle power plant Csepel II generates 380 MW of electricity with two GE gas turbines, two AE&E boilers and one GE steam turbine. The power plant is located in the Danube island Csepel, south of Budapest and covers 6% of the country´s total energy requirements. In addition to selling heat to Hungarian industrial operations, the power plant supplies district heating to more than 19.500 apartments in south Budapest. The power plant is currently operated by the atel-Group from Switzerland.

Partners of convex ZT GmbH (W. Nesitka and T. Uzunoglu) were responsible for the civil design as project manager resp. structural engineer on behalf of ASTengineers. The main buildings of the power plant, the 120 m long machine hall, the 39 m high enclosed boilers and the supporting structures for the two 65 m high chimneys were carried out in structural steelwork.

The core part of the power plant is the machine hall, housing the two gas turbines and the steam turbine. The machine hall is equipped with three overhead travelling cranes with a capacity of 50 to each for maintenance purposes. The supporting structure consists of two-pin portal frames, braced in wall- and roof level in order to resist the lateral forces from wind, crane operation and piping.

Client:
POWERGEN, United Kingdom
General contractor:
VA TECH Hydro, Austria
Capacity (electrical):
380 MW
Capacity (heat):
125 MW
Overall costs:
€ 220 mill.
Completion:
2000

_
Photos:
T. Uzunoglu

KW CSEPEL II BUDAPEST 1239827537
KW CSEPEL II BUDAPEST 1239827485
KW CSEPEL II BUDAPEST 1239827629

TKW CSEPEL II, BUDAPEST, UNGARN

 

Das Kombikraftwerk Csepel II erzeugt 380 MW elektrische Energie und 125 MW thermische Energie mit zwei GE-Gasturbinen, zwei AE&E-Boiler und einer GE-Dampfturbine. Die Anlage befindet sich auf der Donauhalbinsel Csepel im Süden von Budapest und deckt 6 % des gesamten Energiebedarfs von Ungarn ab. Zusätzlich werden 19.500 Haushalte im Süden von Budapest mit Fernwärme versorgt. Derzeit wird die Anlage von der Schweizer atel-Gruppe betrieben.

Gesellschafter der convex ZT GmbH (W. Nesitka und T. Uzunoglu) waren als Mitarbeiter der ASTengineers an der Bauplanung als Projektleiter bzw. Statiker beteiligt. Die Hauptgebäude der Kraftwerksanlage, die 120 m lange Maschinenhalle, die zwei 39 m hohe Kesselhäuser und die Traggerüste der beiden 65 m hohen Kamine sind in Stahlbauweise ausgeführt.

Das Herzstück der gesamten Anlage ist die Maschinenhalle mit den beiden Gasturbinen und der Dampfturbine. Für Wartungsarbeiten der Turbinen sind drei Kräne mit einer Hubkraft von jeweils 50 to vorgesehen. Die Tragstruktur der Maschinenhalle besteht aus Zweigelenkrahmen, welche durch Windverbände in der Wand- und Dachebene stabilisiert werden, wobei zusätzlich zu Wind- und Kranlasten auch hohe Horizontalkräfte der befestigten Rohrleitungen abzutragen waren.

Bauherr:
POWERGEN, Grossbritannien
Generalunternehmer:
VA TECH Hydro, Österreich
Leistung (elektrisch):
380 MW
Leistung (thermisch):
125 MW
Gesamtkosten:
€ 220 Mio.
Inbetriebnahme:
2000

_
Photos:
T. Uzunoglu